Hello lovelies! Its been a fantastic week for me! On saturday I was lucky enough to win 1st place in the vegan section for Bournemouth Cupcake Camp! I made 3 flavours: organic raspberry with chocolate ganche, organic lemon and coconut and mango.

The cupcakes were judged by the lovely vegan baker, Ms Cupcake and the epic Esther Rantzen!

So, lots of people have been mailing me recently asking for savoury recipes and asking what I eat so I thought I’d start taking a few photos of my food for the next week and let you know how to make it yourself! Some of the recipes might not be mine  so I’ll make sure I give lots of credit to the author and if its your recipe and want it removed please let me know x x x

Tuesday – Curried udon noodles (based on recipe from Veganomicon by I. Chandra Moskowitz and T. Hope Romero)

I bought this book from a charity shop last year but was put off by the lack of photos (superficial aren’t I?!). I then went to a friends house and she cooked me an amazing bean dish for dinner and she said it was from this book (shock horror!). Since then I’ve totally fallen in love with it! Everything works and tastes super posh but only takes minutes! Highly recommended as a 1st vegan book!

What you need:

The curry sauce:

  • 2 tbsp ground nut oil
  • 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 tsp sugar

The rest:

  • 2 tbsp ground nut oil
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 green chilli. chopped
  • 1 red onion chopped
  • Broccoli, chopped
  • Green beans, chopped
  • Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 cup vegetable stock
  • 3 tbsp soya sauce
  • Smoked tofu, chopped
  • Udon noodles

What you do:

  1. Pre-cook the noodles as per packet instructions, drain and set aside.
  2. (Make the sauce!) In a small saucepan mix together the oil and flour on a medium – low heat for 3-5 min using a wooden spoon (don’t stop stirring!).
  3. Stir in the spices for 1 min.
  4. Swap the spoon for a whisk and add the stock and sugar until thick and take off the heat (don’t panic if it looks super thick and gloopy!).
  5. Pop the oil in a big wok and fry the onion, garlic, ginger and chillis for a couple of minutes.
  6. Add the rest of the vegetables and tofu and fry until almost cooked.
  7. Add the sauce, stock, soya sauce and noodles, stir until heated through then serve!!
  8. Enjoy!! 🙂

